Autumn schools of the research cluster "Language Education and Multilingualism"

The Autumn schools are organized by the coordination office and are aimed at young researchers of the research cluster and, depending on the availability, young researchers of the research field “Language education and multilingualism” in general. In the following, you can find an overview of the preceding events:

 

4th autumn school

September 12-13, 2018, in Hamburg

On the first day, junior researchers were able to present their data and to discuss with peers as well as experts in two parallel workshops on qualitative and quantitative methods. On the second day Shosh Lesehm (Oranim College of Education, Israel) addressed important aspects of a doctoral thesis in her presentation “Doing the Doctorate”.

 

3rd autumn school

September 20-21, 2017, in Hamburg

The first day was dedicated to the requirements of writing a doctoral thesis. Vernon Trafford (Anglia Ruskin University and longtime trainer of doctoral students within the EERA) examined "the nature of doctorateness" and what it means to think "like a researcher". On the second day, Susannah Ewing-Boelke conducted a workshop on"Academic Writing in English".

 

2nd autumn school

Oktober 28-29, 2015, in Hamburg

The aim of this autumn school was to provide skills training for junior researchers in terms of both academic qualifications and networking. Participants got to take part in a training session on presentation skills for academics. In addition, parallel workshops on qualitative and quantitative research offered the opportunity for participants to present their own work and to gain feedback from experts as well as from one another.

 

1st autumn school

November 5-6, 2014, in Hamburg

The theme of the first autumn school was “Scientific work on language education and multilingualism”. Vernon Trafford (Anglia Ruskin University and longtime trainer of doctoral students within the EERA) and Shosh Leshem (Oranim College of Education, Israel) started the session with their presentation “Making thinking visible through writing your thesis”. Afterwards, two parallel workshops on qualitative and quantitative research were conducted. The second day consisted of further workshops and presentations on scientific publishing.

Herbstschulen des BMBF-Forschungsschwerpunktes "Sprachliche Bildung und Mehrsprachigkeit


Die Herbstschulen werden von der Koordinierungsstelle organisiert und richten sich an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen des Schwerpunktes sowie (nach verfügaren Plätzen) an andere NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen aus dem Bereich "Sprachliche Bildung und Mehrsprachigkeit". Im Folgenden finden Sie eine Übersicht über die vergangenen Veranstaltungen:

 

4. Herbstschule

12.-13. September 2018 in Hamburg

Es wurden zwei parallel laufende Datenworkshops zu jeweils qualitativen und quantitativen Methoden organisiert, in denen die NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen ihre Daten vorstellten und mit den TeilnehmerInnen sowie ExpertInnen diskutierten. Der zweite Tag stand unter dem Thema "Doing the Doctorate", in dem Shosh Leshem (Oranim College of Education, Israel) wichtige Aspekte einer Doktorarbeit ganzheitlich thematisierte.

 

3. Herbstschule

20.-21. September 2017 in Hamburg

Der erste Tag widmete sich den Erfordernissen des Verfassens einer Doktorarbeit. Vernon Trafford (Anglia Ruskin University und langjähriger Trainer von DoktorandInnen im Rahmen der EERA) beleuchtete, was "the nature of doctorateness" ausmacht und was es bedeutet "like a researcher" zu denken. Am zweiten Tag führte Susannah Ewing-Boelke einen Workshop zum Thema "Academic Writing in English" durch.

 

2. Herbstschule

28.-29. Oktober in Hamburg

Ziele der Herbstschule bestanden in der Qualifizierung für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten sowie in der Förderung der Vernetzung, sowohl innerhalb des Schwerpunkts als auch mit externen ExpertInnen. Bestandteile des Programms war eine Schulung der Rhetorikfähigkeiten beim wissenschaftlichen Präsentieren (mit Videoübungen und Feedback durch eine professionelle Trainerin). Ferner fanden zwei parallele Workshops zur qualitativen und quantitativen Forschung statt.

 

1. Herbstschule

5.- 6. November 2014 in Hamburg

Die erste Herbstschule stand unter dem Thema „Wissenschaftliches Schreiben und Publizieren über sprachliche Bildung und Mehrsprachigkeit“. Vernon Trafford (Anglia Ruskin University und langjähriger Trainer von DoktorandInnen im Rahmen der EERA) und Shosh Leshem (Oranim College of Education, Israel) leiteten mit ihrem Vortrag "Making thinking visible through writing your thesis" die Veranstaltung ein. Im Anschluss fanden zwei parallel verlaufende Workshop zum wissenschaftlichen Schreiben statt. Der zweite Tag bestand aus Workshops und Vorträgen zum wissenschaftlichen Publizieren.