Follow-up project: MIKS II – Dissemination of a professionalisation and school development concept in an age of new migration

Introduction

The objective of MIKS II (2016-2019) is to adapt the professionalisation and school development concept developed in MIKS I to primary schools that have received large numbers of newly arrived pupils. It is being circulated in 18 schools in North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) via a training programme for designated ‘disseminators’, run in cooperation with LaKI, the regional coordination unit for local integration centres there. The disseminators work for the local integration centres as teacher trainers.

The research team initially communicates the MIKS concept to 13 teacher trainers via a targeted training programme. These teacher trainers then implement the concept in the project schools as part of a qualification process for staff in the field of multilingualism. Depending on the size and capacities of each school, either the whole staff or a selected group take part. The training and qualification sessions take place over an 18-month period and include content-based modules as well as sessions for guided reflection.

What is investigated?

The MIKS II intervention comprises two levels: (1) training for disseminators (training the trainers), (2) qualification of staff at the school level by the disseminators (teacher trainers).

The overarching research question is as follows: In an age of new migration, how can teacher trainers be supported to implement the MIKS professionalisation and school development concept?

Both the training of teacher trainers and the processes and effects in the project schools are being scientifically evaluated. The training is evaluated via a questionnaire survey and group interviews with the teacher trainers. Extensive and detailed field notes are taken during all training sessions. In the project schools, questionnaire surveys are conducted among the staff prior to and following completion of the qualification phase. Comparison schools also take part in the survey. The head teachers in the project schools are interviewed before and after the qualification phase. Four of the 18 project schools are focus schools, and the qualification sessions and some lessons are observed (participatory observation).

Expected outcomes

This research intervention project is expected to shed light on:

  • The quality criteria for a ‘training the trainers’ programme in the field of multilingualism;
  • Processes of professionalisation and school development in primary schools that implement the MIKS concept;
  • Experiences with multilingual teaching approaches in primary schools with large numbers of newly arrived pupils.

Dealing with migration-related multilingualism in a productive way, as part of a school development process that is sensitive to migration, is an educational policy aim in North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW). The teacher trainers who participate in MIKS II will continue to implement the MIKS concept in schools even after the completion of the project. Furthermore, it is possible that the concept could be transferred to other federal states in Germany in the future. The MIKS concept for professionalisation and school development can also be adapted to secondary schools.

Implications for educational practice

Dissemination eines Professionalisierungs- und Schulentwicklungskonzepts in Zeiten der Neuzuwanderung (MIKS II)

Projektvorstellung

Im Folgeprojekt MIKS II (2016-2019) wird das in MIKS I entwickelte Professionalisierungs- und Schulentwicklungskonzept an die Situation von Grundschulen mit hohen Anteilen neu zugewanderter Kinder angepasst und durch eine Multiplikatorenschulung (Fortbildung von Fortbildner_innen) in die Breite getragen.

Das Team der Universität Hamburg vermittelt das MIKS-Konzept insgesamt 13 Multiplikator_innen im Rahmen einer Schulung. Die Multiplikator_innen setzen das MIKS-Konzept dann im Rahmen einer Qualifizierung in den Projektschulen um. Je nach Größe und Möglichkeiten der Projektschule wird entweder das ganze Kollegium oder eine Konzeptgruppe aus dem Kollegium qualifiziert. Schulung und Qualifizierung finden über einen Zeitraum von anderthalb Jahren statt und umfassen sowohl inhaltliche Fortbildungstage als auch Reflexionstage.

Beteiligt sind 18 Projektschulen in Nordrhein-Westfalen, und es besteht eine Kooperation mit der Landesweiten Koordinierungsstelle der Kommunalen Integrationszentren (LaKI).

Wie und was wird untersucht

Die Intervention in MIKS II umfasst zwei Ebenen: (1) die Ebene der Multiplikatorenschulung (Professionalisierung von Fortbildner_innen), (2) die Schulebene (Qualifizierungen in den Projektschulen, in denen die Multiplikator_innen tätig sind).

Die übergreifende Fragestellung lautet: Wie können Fortbildner_innen in Zeiten der gestiegenen Neuzuwanderung erfolgreich dabei unterstützt werden, das MIKS-Professionalisierungs- und Schulentwicklungskonzept  umzusetzen?

Wissenschaftlich untersucht werden die Professionalisierung der Mulitplikator_innen sowie die Prozesse und Wirkungen in den Projektschulen. Die Untersuchung der Multiplikatorenschulung erfolgt anhand von Fragebogenerhebung und Gruppeninterviews mit allen Mulitplikator_innen. Alle Schulungen werden protokolliert. In den Projektschulen werden Fragebogenerhebungen vor Beginn und nach Abschluss der Qualifizierung durchgeführt; befragt werden auch Vergleichsschulen. Die Schulleitungen aller Projektschulen werden vor Beginn und nach Abschluss der Qualifizierung interviewt. Vier der 18 Projektschulen sind Fokusschulen, in denen darüber hinaus Lehrkräfte interviewt und die Qualifizierungstage sowie Unterricht teilnehmend beobachtet werden.

Geplante Ergebnisse

Die Ergebnisse der wissenschaftlichen Untersuchung werden Aufschluss geben über

  • Qualitätsmerkmale einer Multiplikatorenschulung für Fortbildner_innen und Schulbegleiter_innen im Handlungsfeld Mehrsprachigkeit;
  • Prozesse der Professionalisierung und Schulentwicklung in Grundschulen, die das MIKS-Konzept umsetzen;
  • Erfahrungen mit mehrsprachigkeitsdidaktischen Ansätzen in Grundschulen mit hohen Anteilen neu zugewanderter Kinder.

In Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) ist ein produktiver Umgang mit Mehrsprachigkeit als Bestandteil migrationssensibler Schulentwicklung ein bildungspolitisches Ziel. Im MIKS II-Projekt werden Multiplikator_innen ausgebildet, die das MIKS-Konzept auch im Anschluss an die Projektlaufzeit in Schulen umsetzen werden. Das MIKS-Konzept ist Teil des regulären Fortbildungs- und Schulentwicklungsprogramms im Land NRW. Darüber hinaus ist in Zukunft eine Übertragung in weitere Bundesländer möglich. Das MIKS-Konzept für Professionalisierung und Schulentwicklung kann außerdem an eine Umsetzung in weiterführenden Schulformen angepasst werden.