Follow-up project: MEG-SKoRe II - Multilingualism as a linguistic and cognitive resource in English language acquisition in primary school

Introduction

The MEG-SKoRe I study found that individual factors such as L1 vocabulary size and a high degree of language awareness correlate positively with achievement in foreign language learning. Against this background, MEG-SKoRe II aims to investigate (a) how these positive aspects of multilingualism can be used in English language teaching in primary school and (b) whether employing multilingual teaching materials and methods leads to improvement in English skills, higher student participation and more peer-to-peer interaction between multilingual and German monolingual students. Based on the widely used textbook, Playway (Becker, Gerngross, & Puchta, 2013), we will develop learning materials and method in which metalinguistic awareness will be targeted and promoted. For instance, we will compare and contrast the students’ heritage languages (including German) with English or conduct exercises to improve students’ phonological awareness. The learning materials and methods will be put into practice in an intervention study and will be assessed using the research tools from MEG-SKoRe I.

What is investigated?

In a teaching intervention study, 4th grade students will be taught in experimental and control groups for six months. In the experimental group, the English lessons will explicitly refer to the students’ heritage languages and employ metalinguistic awareness tasks; in the control group, there will be regular English lessons without reference to the students’ multilingual backgrounds. The participants’ English skills as well as their L1 and L2 skills will be assessed at three intervals: before and after the teaching intervention and then again at the end of the school year. Furthermore, we will collect data on students’ metalinguistic awareness and cognitive-social control factors. Additionally, we will examine specific grammatical phenomena before and after two units in order to measure the short-term impacts of the teaching intervention. Next to these linguistic skills, we will observe student participation in class and collect data on the students’ views on multilingual English language teaching.

Expected outcomes
Implications for educational practice

Using objective performance measures, this project explores the potential of multilingual foreign language teaching. It thus contributes to the development of multilingual foreign language teaching by providing teaching handbooks, methods and materials for the English language classroom. Additionally, we will develop and host workshops for teachers that show how the material can be implemented in English lessons in primary school. The content of these workshops will be based on the project results. These workshops will enable teachers to integrate multilingual tasks in their English lessons. The materials and methods used in the intervention will be made available for teacher workshops, and they will be hosted on the project website www.megskore.de and on www.playway.de. This way, teachers who are interested in the materials will also be able to access them for free.

Sprachliche und kognitive Ressourcen der Mehrsprachigkeit im Englischerwerb in der Grundschule (MEG-SKoRe II)

Projektvorstellung

MEG-SKoRe I zeigt, dass ein gut ausgebauter Wortschatz in der Erst- bzw. Herkunftssprache, eine hohe Sprachbewusstheit und ein hohes Sprachbewusstsein individuelle Erfolgsfaktoren im frühen Fremdsprachenerwerb sind. Ausgehend von diesen Ergebnissen untersucht MEG-SKoRe II in einer Interventionsstudie, (a) wie Erfolgsfaktoren der Mehrsprachigkeit im Englischunterricht der Primarstufe didaktisch genutzt werden können und (b) ob der Einbezug von mehrsprachigkeitssensiblen didaktischen Methoden zu messbaren Kompetenzfortschritten, größerer Unterrichtspartizipation und Peer-to-Peer-Interaktion von mehrsprachigen und monolingual deutschsprachigen Schüler/innen führt. Angelehnt an das weit verbreitete Lehrwerk Playway (Becker, Gerngross, & Puchta, 2013) entwickeln wir Lerneinheiten, in denen Sprachbewusstheit und Sprachbewusstsein, z.B. durch den Einbezug von Sprachvergleichen mit Herkunftssprachen und dem Deutschen, gezielt thematisiert und gefördert werden. Diese Lerneinheiten werden in einer didaktischen Interventionsstudie eingesetzt und mit in MEG-SKoRe I erprobten Methoden auf ihre Wirksamkeit überprüft.

Wie und was wird untersucht

In einer didaktischen Interventionsstudie werden Schüler/innen der 4. Klasse für ca. 6 Monate in Experimental- und Kontrollklassen unterrichtet. In der Experimentalgruppe werden in den Lerneinheiten die Herkunftssprachen der Kinder und Sprachbewusstheitsübungen gezielt in den Englischunterricht einbezogen (z.B. Abbildung 4); in der Kontrollgruppe findet regulärer Englischunterricht ohne explizite Berücksichtigung dieser Elemente statt. An drei Zeitpunkten (vor Beginn der didaktischen Intervention, nach deren Ende und kurz vor Schuljahresende) finden Messungen der Englischkompetenzen sowie der sprachlichen Kompetenzen in L1 und L2 statt. Daneben erheben wir Daten zu Sprachbewusstheit und kognitiv-sozialen Kontrollfaktoren. Zusätzlich werden zu Beginn und zum Ende zweier mehrwöchiger Lerneinheiten direkte Effekte der didaktischen Intervention auf spezifische sprachliche Phänomene gemessen. Neben den sprachlichen Kompetenzen werden auch Einflüsse der Intervention auf die Unterrichtsbeteiligung und die Einstellungen der Schüler/innen zum Englischunterricht untersucht.

Aufgabenbeispiel – Schüler/innen erhalten Legosteine in verschiedenen Farben und ordnen die Satzglieder in verschiedenen Sprachen.

Geplante Ergebnisse

Das Projekt lotet das Potenzial mehrsprachigkeitssensiblen Fremdsprachenunterrichts objektiv aus und gibt konkrete Hinweise zur Unterrichtsentwicklung und -gestaltung. Zudem entwickelt das Projekt didaktische Konzepte und Unterrichtsmaterialien für den mehrsprachigkeitssensiblen Fremdsprachenunterricht. Zusätzlich erarbeiten wir Lehrerfortbildungen dazu, wie diese Konzepte und Materialien in den Englischunterricht der Primarstufe einbezogen werden können. Der Inhalt dieser Fortbildungen fußt auf den Projektergebnissen MEG-SKoRes zu Machbarkeit und Wirkung mehrsprachigkeitssensiblen Fremdsprachenlernens und –lehrens. Lehrer/innen werden auf diese Weise zur Integration mehrsprachigkeitsförderlicher Aufgabenformate in den regulären Englischunterricht befähigt. Für diese Fortbildung werden Handreichungen und didaktische Materialien, die in der Implementierung des Vorhabens genutzt wurden, aufbereitet und erweitert. Ferner werden die didaktischen Materialien annotiert und auf der Website www.playway.de interessierten Lehrkräften ohne Registrierung und kostenlos zugänglich gemacht.