MEG-SKoRe – Multilingualism as a linguistic and cognitive resource in English language acquisition in primary school

Introduction

In educational contexts, multilingualism is frequently seen as an obstacle to, rather than a resource, for successful learning. Against this backdrop, the research project MEG-SKoRe investigates how multilingualism can constitute a resource for the early acquisition of English in primary school. In the first project cycle (2014-2017), we conducted a longitudinal study in which we identified critical success factors of multilingualism in the context of English language acquisition. In the second cycle, (2017-2020) we apply those factors to classroom settings. The project focuses on two central research questions:

  • Can multilingualism become a resource in early academic foreign language learning?
  • How can teachers make use of this resource didactically in order to support foreign language learning?

Previous research shows mixed results concerning the role of multilingualism in early foreign language learning. Studies that compare the English skills of monolingual Germans with those of multilingual primary school students have either found no group differences in those skills or weaker skills for multilingual students in reading and listening comprehension (see Keßler & Paulick, 2010, for overview). Possible reasons for these heterogeneous findings may be individual differences in the social backgrounds of students as well as varying skills in the languages previously acquired by multilingual students. Indeed, differences in linguistic (e.g. language combinations, language awareness), cognitive (e.g. working memory) and social (e.g. socioeconomic or familial) factors can impact the acquisition of English (e.g. Maluch et al., 2015; Wilden & Porsch, 2015). MEG-SKoRe considers these factors systematically in order to identify critical success factors in early foreign language learning.

What was investigated and how?

In MEG-SKoRe I, we examined whether primary school students with German as a second language (L2) had different learning outcomes in the early acquisition of English compared to their monolingual peers. To this end, we investigated (a) which individual linguistic, cognitive and social factors influence the acquisition of English, and (b) in which respect multilingualism acts as a resource in early foreign language learning. The project consisted of two parts. Part 1 focused on linguistic transfer and to which extent the L1 and/or L2 affect the acquisition of English. Part 2 explored whether metalinguistic awareness has a positive impact on English language skills.

Part 1: Vocabulary and Grammar

For the first part, we assessed general vocabulary and grammar skills as well as specific grammatical phenomena, i.e. article realisation, subject realisation and word order. For general skills, we collected data in German, English and the respective non-German L1 of the multilingual students. To measure receptive vocabulary size, we used the British Picture Vocabulary Scale (BPVS3; Dunn et al., 2009), in which students heard an English word which they then had to match to one of four pictures. Furthermore, we determined productive vocabulary size with a category fluency task (following Delis, Kaplan & Kramer, 2001). Students had to name, within one minute, as many items as possible relating to a single semantic category, such as ‘food’ or ‘clothes’. To assess receptive grammatical knowledge, we administered the Test for Reception of Grammar (TROG-2; Bishop, 2003). The set-up was parallel to the BPVS except, in this case, students had to match an English sentence to one of four picture choices.

Besides these general language skills, we analysed the production of specific grammatical structures, i.e. article realisation, subject realisation, and word order, as part of a computer-based sentence repetition task. Here, students listened to grammatically correct and incorrect sentences in English. They then had to repeat the sentences exactly as they heard them. Depending on whether students corrected the grammatically incorrect sentences, we could assess acquisition of the respective structure. This way, we could determine, for instance, whether the use of articles in English is different for those learners whose L1 uses articles (e.g. Italian) or does not use them (e.g. Turkish, Russian).

Part 2: Language Awareness

In the second part of the project, we examined different aspects of language awareness. First, we assessed students’ levels of phonological awareness by asking them to segment English words into phonemes and manipulate them (e.g. “What remains when you delete the last sound in ‘green’?“). Second, students explicitly reflected on and talked about language(s) in a structured metalinguistic interview. Students answered questions about their language learning experiences and discussed linguistic contrasts between English, German and their respective heritage languages.

Participants

Overall, 200 students (88 monolingual; 112 multilingual) from six public primary schools in south-west Germany took part in the study. They were assessed at two intervals: initially at the end of 3rd grade and then at the end of 4th grade, at which point 184 students remained in the sample (81 monolingual; 103 multilingual). The following heritage languages of multilingual students were represented in the sample: Afghan languages, Albanian, Arabic, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Chinese, French, Greek, Italian, Croatian, Kurdish, Persian, Polish, Romani, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Spanish, Tamil, Turkish, Hungarian and Vietnamese. The largest subgroups were speakers of Turkish (40), Kurdish (11), Albanian (10) und Italian (8).

Results

Group comparisons

The results from 3rd grade show that, compared with their monolingual peers, multilingual students had statistically significantly lower skills in English vocabulary, phonological awareness and working memory. In sentence repetition, multilingual students also showed lower performance than the monolingual German students. At first glance, these results seem to confirm findings from previous studies that did not find a multilingual advantage in foreign language learning.

Individual factors

In further analyses, we factored in cognitive, social and educational variables. Figure 1 illustrates which of these factors significantly affect English vocabulary size. A multilevel regression analysis shows that both social variation at the school level, as well as individual differences between students, impact English skills. Importantly, multilingualism also has a positive impact on English vocabulary knowledge (Hopp et al., forthcoming).

Figure 1: Contributing factors for English receptive vocabulary (BPVS) at institutional and individual level (mixed linear regression). Non-significant factors in faint font.

Similarly, multilingualism contributes positively to English grammar skills in 4th grade for a subgroup of multilingual students (Figure 3), although many other factors show larger contributions (Hopp et al., forthcoming).

Figure 2: Contributing factors for receptive English grammar (TROG-2) at institutional and individual level (mixed linear regression). Non-significant factors in faint font.

Development from 3rd to 4th grade

When looking at the development of English vocabulary skills from 3rd grade to 4th grade, multilingualism loses its positive impact; in fact, its impact becomes negative as skills in German become increasingly important. These results suggest that multilingual resources do not remain stable over time, possibly due to the lack of support in the foreign language classroom. 

The role of language awareness

As Figure 2 shows, (phonological) awareness positively affects English grammar. Moreover, a higher degree of phonological awareness implicates higher English vocabulary skills for both monolingual and multilingual students (Hopp et al., 2017). Finally, the degree to which students can reflect on language(s), as measured in their responses to questions in the metalinguistic interview, also positively affects their English skills.

What does this mean for educational practice?

MEG-SKoRe I shows that multilingualism as such constitutes neither a general resource nor a global disadvantage in the early foreign language classroom. Rather, multilingualism may become a resource in early foreign language learning when additional individual factors are considered - such as a high degree of language awareness, a large vocabulary in the L1 as well as superior cognitive skills. The follow-up project MEG-SKoRe II therefore focuses on how those resources may be addressed and promoted during English lessons in the multilingual classroom.

Abgeschlossen: Sprachliche und kognitive Ressourcen der Mehrsprachigkeit im Englischerwerb in der Grundschule (MEG-SKoRe)

Projektvorstellung

In den meisten Schulfächern wird Mehrsprachigkeit eher als Hindernis und nicht als Ressource für den fachlichen Lernerfolg gesehen. Vor diesem Hintergrund untersucht das Forschungsprojekt MEG-SKoRe wie Mehrsprachigkeit als Ressource im frühen Englischunterricht in der Grundschule nutzbar ist. In der ersten Phase des Projekts (2014-2017) identifizierten wir in einer längsschnittlichen Untersuchung Erfolgsfaktoren der Mehrsprachigkeit im Englischunterricht. In der anschließenden zweiten Phase (2017-2020) setzen wir diese Erfolgsfaktoren gezielt didaktisch ein. Das Projekt hat zwei zentrale Forschungsfragen:

  • Ist Mehrsprachigkeit eine Ressource im frühen schulischen Fremdsprachenerwerb?
  • Wie können Lehrkräfte diese Ressource didaktisch nutzen, um den Fremdsprachenerwerb zu unterstützen?

Der bisherige Forschungsstand zur Rolle der Mehrsprachigkeit im frühen Fremdsprachenlernen bietet ein sehr heterogenes Bild. So fanden Studien zu Englischkompetenzen von einsprachig deutschen und mehrsprachigen Grundschüler*innen entweder keine Unterschiede in den Erwerbsverläufen oder geringere Leistungen mehrsprachiger Schüler*innen in Lese- und Hörverständnis des Englischen (als Überblick, Keßler & Paulick, 2010). Ein Grund für diese heterogenen Befunde liegt sicher darin, dass mehrsprachige Schüler*innen individuell unterschiedliche Voraussetzungen, soziale Hintergründe und Kompetenzen in ihren jeweiligen Sprachen mitbringen, die sich auf den Englischerwerb auswirken können. Eine Rolle spielen linguistische (Sprachenkombination, Sprachbewusstheit), kognitive (z.B. Arbeitsgedächtnis) und soziale (z.B. sozioökonomische oder familiäre) Faktoren (z.B. Maluch et al., 2015; Wilden & Porsch, 2015). Deshalb berücksichtigt MEG-SKoRe diese Faktoren systematisch, um die Erfolgsfaktoren im frühen Fremdsprachenunterricht zu identifizieren.

Wie und was wurde untersucht?

In der ersten Phase untersuchte das Projekt, ob mehrsprachig aufwachsende Grundschüler*innen mit Deutsch als Zweitsprache unterschiedliche Erwerbsbedingungen und -verläufe im frühen Englischerwerb gegenüber einsprachigen Schüler*innen zeigen. So wurde ausgelotet, (a) welche individuellen sprachlichen, kognitiven und sozialen Faktoren Einfluss auf den Englischerwerb haben und (b) inwiefern Mehrsprachigkeit eine Ressource im frühen schulischen Fremdsprachenerwerb ist. Das Projekt war in zwei Teilbereiche gegliedert. Teilprojekt 1 beschäftigte sich mit sprachlichem Transfer und der Frage, inwieweit die Erst- und/oder Zweitsprache den Erwerb des Englischen beeinflussen. In Teilprojekt 2 untersuchte, ob Sprachbewusstheit und Sprachbewusstsein positiv auf Englischkompetenzen wirken.

Teilprojekt 1: Wortschatz und Grammatik

Für Teilprojekt 1 wurden sowohl allgemeine sprachliche Kompetenzen (Sprachstand Wortschatz und Grammatik) als auch spezifische grammatische Kompetenzen (Artikel, Subjekte und Wortstellung) ermittelt. Zur Feststellung der allgemeinen sprachlichen Kompetenzen  erhoben wir Sprachdaten auf Deutsch, Englisch sowie in der jeweiligen nichtdeutschen Erstsprache der mehrsprachigen Schüler*innen. Zur Erfassung des passiven Englischen Wortschatzes wurde der „British Picture and Vocabulary Scale“ (BPVS3; Dunn et al., 2009) verwendet, bei dem die Schüler*innen ein englisches Wort hörten, dem sie im Anschluss eines von vier Bildern zuordnen sollten. Zudem wurde der produktive Wortschatz mithilfe eines Kategorienbenennungstests (nach Delis, Kaplan & Kramer, 2001) ermittelt. Die Schüler*innen nannten zu Kategorien wie „food“ innerhalb einer Minute möglichst viele passende Begriffe. Im Bereich der Grammatik wurde der „Test for Reception of Grammar“ (TROG-2; Bishop, 2003) verwendet. Hier hörten die Schüler*innen einen englischen Satz und wählten anschließend aus vier Bildern das jeweils passende aus.

Neben diesen allgemeinen Sprachkompetenzen wurden spezifische grammatische Strukturen, d.h. Artikel, Subjekte und Wortstellung, untersucht. Diese wurden mithilfe einer computerbasierten englischen Satzwiederholungsaufgabe erhoben. In dieser Aufgabe hörten Schüler*innen korrekte und inkorrekte englische Stimulussätze und sollten sie genauso wiederholen, wie sie sie gehört hatten. Abhängig davon, ob inkorrekte Sätze verbessert wurden, konnte die Kompetenz für diese grammatischen Strukturen getestet werden. In der Auswertung untersuchen wir, ob es etwa für den Gebrauch von Artikeln im Englischen einen Unterschied macht, ob die Erstsprache mehrsprachiger Schüler*innen Artikel verwendet (z.B. Italienisch) oder nicht (z.B. Türkisch, Russisch).

Teilprojekt 2: Sprachbewusstheit und Sprachbewusstsein

Für Teilprojekt 2 wurde zum einen die Sprachbewusstheit in Aufgaben zur phonemischen Zerlegung von englischen Wörtern („Was bleibt übrig, wenn man bei ‚green‘ den letzten Laut weglässt?“), und zum anderem das Sprachbewusstsein, d.h. die Fähigkeit, über Sprache explizit nachzudenken, untersucht. Hierzu sprachen die Schüler*innen in einem Interview über ihre Sprachlernerfahrungen und diskutierten sprachliche Kontraste zwischen dem Englischen, dem Deutschen und ggf. ihrer Muttersprache.

Instrumente zu allgemeinen Fertigkeiten und Hintergrundfaktoren

Zusätzlich wurden kognitive Fähigkeiten, z.B. kognitive Grundfertigkeiten (CFT 20-R) und das Arbeitsgedächtnis (Zahlenspanne), getestet. Sozioökonomische, sprachliche und sonstige Hintergrundfaktoren wurden durch einen Elternfragebogen erfasst. Darüber hinaus wurden über einen kurzen Lehrer*innenfragebogen verschiedene Unterrichtsvariablen, wie z.B. der Englischinput in den Schulen, bestimmt.

Stichprobe

In der längsschnittlichen Studie nahmen 200 Schüler*innen am Ende der dritten und am Ende der vierten Grundschulklasse an sechs Regelgrundschulen in der Rhein-Neckar-Region teil. Hiervon waren 88 einsprachig und 112 mehrsprachig. Im 4. Schuljahr verkleinerte sich die Stichprobe leicht auf 184 Schüler*innen (81 einsprachig; 103 mehrsprachig). Die Gruppe der mehrsprachigen Schüler*innen umfasste dabei die folgenden Erstsprachen: Afghanisch, Albanisch, Arabisch, Bosnisch, Bulgarisch, Chinesisch, Französisch, Griechisch, Italienisch, Kroatisch, Kurdisch, Persisch, Polnisch, Romani, Rumänisch, Russisch, Serbisch, Spanisch, Tamil, Türkisch, Ungarisch, Vietnamesisch. Die größten Untergruppen waren hierbei Türkisch (40), Kurdisch (11), Albanisch (10) und Italienisch (8).

Ergebnisse

Gruppenvergleiche

Die Ergebnisse in der 3. Klasse zeigen, dass mehrsprachige Schüler*innen als Gruppe statistisch signifikant geringere Leistungen im Wortschatz des Englischen sowie in der phonologischen Bewusstheit und im Arbeitsgedächtnis im Vergleich zu einsprachig deutschsprachigen Schüler*innen erreichen. Im Bereich der Grammatik (Satzwiederholung) wiesen mehrsprachige Schüler*innen als Gruppe ebenfalls niedrigere Kompetenzen als einsprachig deutschsprachige Schüler*innen auf. Zunächst scheinen diese Resultate Befunde vorheriger Studien zu bestätigen, die keinen Vorteil von Mehrsprachigkeit finden.

Individuelle Faktoren

In Analysen, die den Einfluss von kognitiven, sozialen und schulischen Faktoren berücksichtigen, zeigt sich ein differenzierteres Bild. Abbildung 1 veranschaulicht, welche der getesteten Faktoren einen signifikanten Einfluss auf den englischen Wortschatz haben. Eine Mehrebenen-Regressionsanalyse belegt, dass neben sozialen Unterschieden zwischen Schulen individuelle Faktoren der Schüler*innen positiv auf die Englischkompetenzen wirken. Auch Mehrsprachigkeit der Schüler*innen hat einen positiven Effekt auf den Englischwortschatz (Hopp et al., im Erscheinen, 2018).

Abbildung 1: Einflussfaktoren auf den englischen Wortschatz (BPVS) auf Schul- und Individualebene (gemischte lineare Regression). Statistisch nicht signifikante Faktoren sind ausgeblasst.

Auch für die Grammatikkompetenzen in der 4. Klasse wirkt Mehrsprachigkeit positiv, zumindest für einen Teil der mehrsprachigen Schüler*innen (Abbildung 2), auch wenn viele andere Faktoren z.T. stärkere Bedeutung haben (Hopp, im Erscheinen).

Abbildung 2: Einflussfaktoren auf die englische Grammatik (TROG-2) auf Schul- und Individualebene (gemischte lineare Regression). Statistisch nicht signifikante Faktoren sind ausgeblasst.

Entwicklung von der 3. zur 4. Klasse

Beim Vergleich der Entwicklung der Englischkompetenzen (Wortschatz) von Jahrgangsstufe 3 zu 4 hat Mehrsprachigkeit keinen positiven Einfluss mehr – vielmehr kehrt sich deren Einfluss um und die Deutschkompetenzen werden bedeutsam. Diese Ergebnisse legen nahe, dass mehrsprachige Ressourcen nicht konstant bleiben; ggf. weil Mehrsprachigkeit als Ressource im Fremdsprachenunterricht nicht angesprochen wird.

Die Rolle von Sprachbewusstheit und Sprachbewusstsein

Die obigen Analysen belegen, dass eine höhere (phonologische) Sprachbewusstheit positiv auf die Grammatikkompetenzen wirkt (Abbildung 2). Eine höhere phonologische Bewusstheit geht zudem mit einem größeren Wortschatz im Englischen einher, unabhängig davon, ob ein*e Schüler*in einsprachig oder mehrsprachig ist (Hopp et al., 2017). Auch das Sprachbewusstsein der Schüler*innen, d.h. die Antworten auf sprachanalytische Fragen im metasprachlichen Interview, hat einen positiven Einfluss auf die Englischkompetenzen

Was bedeutet das für die Praxis?

MEG-SKoRe I belegt, dass Mehrsprachigkeit an sich weder eine generelle Ressource noch einen Nachteil im frühen schulischen Englischerwerb darstellt. Vielmehr ist Mehrsprachigkeit im Zusammenspiel mit weiteren individuellen Faktoren wie hoher Sprachbewusstheit  (Einsatz metalinguistischer Fertigkeiten) und hohem Sprachbewusstsein (Fähigkeit über Sprache nachzudenken) sowie einem großen Wortschatz in der Muttersprache und kognitiven Fertigkeiten eine Ressource im Erlernen einer schulischen Fremdsprache. Daher untersucht das Folgeprojekt, MEG-SKoRe II, wie diese Ressourcen im Englischunterricht didaktisch angesprochen und gezielt gefördert werden können..