Multiliteracy: the interrelation between language abilities in the first- and second languages and extra-linguistic factors

Introduction

This project investigates the interrelation of writing abilities in the first and second languages of bilingual 9th and 10th graders with the heritage languages Turkish, Italian or Greek. The study aims to examine the impacts of extra-linguistic factors (such as language attitude, literacy practices, language use) and metalinguistic awareness on written discourse competences in both languages. The following hypotheses were tested:

  • Writing abilities in L1 and L2 influence one another. A high level of competence in the L1 is imperative to high levels in the L2.
  • Extra-linguistic factors and metalinguistic awareness influence writing abilities in the L1 and L2.

With regard to metalinguistic awareness, we focus on linguistic aspects and include cognitive as well as performance levels (see James/Garrett 1991): i) Cognitive level: Knowledge of grammar, rules und functions of language, ii) Performance level: Language use, strategies of communication and the practice of talking about language while using formal metalanguage (Fehling 2006: 86).

What was investigated and how?

Different survey instruments were developed in order to examine writing abilities, extra-linguistic factors and metalinguistic awareness.

Writing assignments

Assignments were developed to elicit narrative and argumentative texts. For the narrative texts, pictures were selected and presented to participants who were tasked with composing fictional stories in both the L1 and L2. For the argumentative texts, two different letters were composed: one on the subject of a ban on foreign languages in the schoolyard (L1), another on a mobile phone ban at school (L2). The assignments were piloted and then repeated at 4-week intervals.

Language Awareness Test (LAT)

Based on the speech awareness test by Fehling (2005), a test on metalinguistic awareness (LAT) was developed to capture pragmatic, semantic, and textual knowledge in both the L1 and L2. The aim was to examine the level of linguistic variation and addressee orientation on the pragmatic level, as well as to examine the use of synonyms and universal terms on the semantic level. On the textual level, knowledge of textual organisation coherence and cohesion could be captured.

Language biographical interviews with students in L1 and L2

Interviews were conducted in that participants’ L1 and L2 in which questions language attitudes, language use (oral and written) were addressed. The data elicited from the interviews could help to explain the influence of extra-linguistic factors on writing abilities. The aim of conducting the interviews in both languages was to interpret students’ competency levels in those languages and to determine whether language attitudes are communicated differently depending on the respective language in use.

Interviews with parents

Further sociolinguistic data - such as literacy practices at home, language use, language input - was gathered through parental interviews.

Analysis

Developing an analytical framework: In order to assess writing abilities in the respective languages, a model was developed to capture overall writing patterns. This model factors in macro- and microstructures, discourse modes (oral conceptual vs. written structural), and communicative modes (distant vs. involved). Based on these criteria, a detailed analytical framework including five writing levels was constructed for each type of text. All texts were analysed by three independent evaluators.

Analysis of the Language Awareness Tests: Answers to the LAT were ranked on a scale of 1 to 4 with regard to adequacy. The semantic, pragmatic and textual levels, as well as the overall test outcome, were thereby evaluated for both L1 and L2.

Analysis of the language biographical data: The language biographical interviews were transcribed orthographically. Based on the speakers’ statements, profiles were created to show the differences in language use between the students. The data were evaluated statistically using the free programming language for statistical computing and graphics, R (cf. R Core Team 2013) - in accordance with the generalised linear mixed model.

Results

The results show that participants representing all three heritage language groups reach a higher level in the argumentative texts in the L2 than in their L1. The argumentative texts composed in the L1 differ significantly, however, with regard to text structure (macrostructure), which can be explained by culture-specific formalities not acquired in the respective language. Compared with the argumentative texts, participants attain high levels in writing competence in the narrative texts in both languages. Generally speaking, those who show good writing abilities in their L1 also show good abilities in the L2.

With regard to metalinguistic awareness, the results indicate a correlation with writing abilities. Participants with poor writing abilities in the L1 demonstrate awareness of the essential aspects of a text (for instance, cohesion and coherence) and that they are generally able to estimate register-specific norms correctly (such as how to appropriately address the listener). From a didactical point-of-view, assignments to promote metalinguistic awareness should be created to support these young multilinguals in their writing development. In addition, a concept in terms of contrastive language didactics should be developed to compare different text, argumentation and stylistic patterns in various languages.

The statistical analysis of the sociolinguistic data indicates that heritage language education may have a positive impact on writing abilities in the L1 only after seven years. However, this may also relate to other factors, such as lesson design (especially when taken as extra-curricular). This was confirmed by teachers and pupils in interviews. Nevertheless, it can also be shown that L1 lessons, even though they do not have a significantly positive effect, do not have a negative one either. Rather, literacy practices at home, language attitudes and use among the study participants appear to have a highly positive effect on their writing abilities.

What does this mean for educational practice?
  • Linguistic support for multilingual children must be carried out in both languages.
  • The L2 does not suffer when the L1 is supported; rather, it can be strengthened.
  • Support for multiple languages includes the acquisition of literacy as part of explicit knowledge.
  • The promotion of metalinguistic awareness, in other words a differentiated knowledge of linguistic structures and language usage, should be taken more into account in formal education.

Abgeschlossen : Mehrschriftlichkeit - Zur Wechselwirkung von Sprachkompetenzen in Erst- und Zweitsprache und außersprachlichen Faktoren

Projektvorstellung

Abschlussbericht des Projekts: Abschlussbericht

Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Wechselwirkungen von schriftsprachlicher Kompetenz in Erst- und Zweitsprache bei bilingualen Schülerinnen und Schülern des 9. und 10. Schuljahres mit Türkisch, Italienisch und Griechisch als Herkunftssprache zu untersuchen. Dabei sollen die Einflüsse außersprachlicher Faktoren (z.B. Einstellung zur Sprache, literale Praktiken, Sprachgebrauch etc.) und metasprachlichen Bewusstseins[1] auf die Textkompetenz in beiden Sprachen beleuchtet werden. Es wurden die folgenden Hypothesen überprüft:

  • Es besteht eine Wechselwirkung zwischen der Textkompetenz in der Erstsprache (L1) und der Zweitsprache (L2): Eine hohe Textkompetenz in der L1 bedingt eine hohe Textkompetenz in der L2
  • Außersprachliche Faktoren und metasprachliches Sprachbewusstsein beeinflussen die Textkompetenz in der L1 und L2
Wie und was wurde untersucht

Es wurden zunächst Erhebungsinstrumente entwickelt, um die Textkompetenz und die außersprachlichen Faktoren sowie das metasprachliche Bewusstsein untersuchen zu können.

Textvorlagen

Es wurden Aufgaben entwickelt, um narrative und argumentative Texte zu elizitieren. Für die narrativen Texte wurden jeweils unterschiedliche Bildimpulse in L1 und L2 ausgewählt, die eine Phantasiegeschichte hervorrufen sollten. Für die argumentativen Texte wurde jeweils eine Aufgabe in Form eines argumentativen Briefes erstellt: in der L1 zum Thema „Fremdsprachenverbot auf dem Schulhof“ und in der L2 zum Thema „Handyverbot am gesamten Schulgelände“. Die Aufgaben wurden zunächst pilotiert und dann im Abstand von vier Wochen in L1 und L2 erhoben.

Language Awareness Test (LAT)

Auf der Grundlage des Sprachbewusstheitstests von Fehling (2005) wurde ein Test zur Messung des metasprachlichen Bewusstseins (LAT) entwickelt, der die Komponenten pragmatisches, semantisches und textuelles Wissen in L1 und L2 erfassen kann. Damit sollten auf der pragmatischen Ebene die Registerkompetenz und Adressatenorientierung und auf der semantischen Ebene der Gebrauch von Synonymen und Passepartout-Wörtern untersucht werden. Auf der textuellen Ebene sollte das Wissen über Textordnungsmuster bzw. die Kohärenz und Kohäsion eines Textes erfasst werden.

Sprachbiographische Schülerinterviews in L1 und L2

Zur Überprüfung des Einflusses außersprachlicher Faktoren auf die Textkompetenz dienten Interviews in L1 und L2, die Fragen nach Spracheinstellungen, Sprachgebrauch (mündlich und schriftlich) etc. enthielten. Ziel der Interviews in beiden Sprachen war es einerseits, die Kompetenzniveaus der Schüler(innen) zu interpretieren, sowie festzustellen, ob Spracheinstellungen in Abhängigkeit von dem/der jeweiligen muttersprachlichen Interviewer(in) in den jeweiligen Sprachen unterschiedlich kommuniziert werden.

Elterninterviews

Weitere soziolinguistische Daten (z.B. literale Praktiken im Elternhaus, Sprachgebrauch, sprachlicher Input) wurden durch Elterninterviews erhoben.

Übersicht über die erhobenen Daten

Im Rahmen des Projektes wurden insgesamt 206 Proband(inn)en erreicht und die folgenden Daten erhoben und ausgewertet.

Auswertung

Entwicklung eines Textanalyserasters: Für die Beurteilung der Textkompetenz in den jeweiligen Sprachen wurde ein Modell entwickelt, mit dem es möglich ist, globale Textmuster zu erfassen. Dabei werden die Makro- und Mikrostruktur, der Diskursmodus (konzeptionell mündliche bzw. schriftliche Strukturen) und die kommunikative Grundhaltung (Distanzierung vs. Involvierung) berücksichtigt. Basierend auf diesen Kriterien wurde ein detailliertes Analyseraster für die jede Textsorte entwickelt, das fünf Textniveaustufen umfasst. Die Texte wurden von jeweils drei unabhängigen Bewerter(inne)n ausgewertet.

Auswertung des Language Awareness Tests: Die Antworten des LAT-Tests wurden hinsichtlich ihrer Angemessenheit anhand einer Skala von 1 bis 4 gerankt. Daraus ergeben sich die Werte auf der semantischen, pragmatischen und textuellen Ebene in der L1 und L2, sowie der Gesamtwert des LAT-Tests. Diese Vorgehensweise ermöglicht die quantitative Auswertung der Aussagen.

Auswertung der sprachbiographischen Daten: Die sprachbiographischen Interviews wurden orthographisch transkribiert. Anhand der Sprecheraussagen wurden Sprachgebrauchsprofile erstellt, die die Unterschiede zwischen den Schüler(inne)n aufzeigen. In den Profilen wurden v.a. die Daten mit Hilfe der freien Programmiersprache für statistisches Rechnen und statistische Grafiken R (vgl. R Core Team 2013) nach dem generalisierten linearen gemischten Modell statistisch ausgewertet.

Ergebnisse

Die bisherigen Ergebnisse zeigen, dass die Proband(inn)en der drei Sprachgruppen ein höheres Niveau bei den argumentativen Texten in der L2 als in der L1 erzielen. Die argumentativen Texte der L1 weichen auf der Ebene der Textstruktur (Makrostruktur) erheblich von der jeweiligen kulturspezifisch geprägten Struktur ab, was mit dem fehlenden Erwerb der entsprechenden Muster in der L1 erklärt werden kann. Im Vergleich zu den Argumentationen wird bei den Narrationen ein höheres Textniveau in beiden Sprachen erreicht. Generell gilt, dass bei Proband(inn)en, die eine hohe Textkompetenz in der L1 aufweisen, auch eine gute Kompetenz in der L2 vorliegt.

In Bezug auf das metasprachliche Bewusstsein weisen die Ergebnisse auf einen Zusammenhang mit den Textkompetenzen hin. Die Schüler(innen) mit einer geringen Textkompetenz in der L1 zeigen, dass sie sich der notwendigen Komponenten eines Textes (z.B. Textkohäsion und -kohärenz) bewusst sind und registerspezifische Normen (z.B. angemessene Adressierung des Hörers) in der Regel richtig einschätzen können. Diesen Aspekt gilt es daher in einem didaktischen Konzept zu berücksichtigen. Es sollten spezifische Aufgaben entwickelt werden, die das metasprachliche Bewusstsein fördern. Außerdem sollte ein Konzept entwickelt werden, z.B. im Sinne einer kontrastiven Sprachdidaktik, in dem die unterschiedlichen Textmuster, verschiedene Argumentationsmuster und rhetorisch-stilistische Unterschiede in den jeweiligen Sprachen gegenübergestellt werden.

Die statistische Analyse der soziolinguistischen Daten weist darauf hin, dass der muttersprachliche Unterricht erst bei einer Dauer von sieben Jahren einen positiven Einfluss auf die Textkompetenz in der L1 ausübt. Dies könnte aber auch mit anderen Faktoren wie z.B. der Gestaltung des Unterrichts (v.a. wenn er außerhalb des Regelunterrichts stattfindet) zusammenhängen. Das bestätigen Lehrer(innen)befragungen und Stellungnahmen der Schüler(innen) in den sprachbiographischen Interviews. Allerdings lässt sich auch zeigen, dass Unterricht in der L1, wenn auch keine signifikant positive, aber auch keine negative Wirkung hat. Eine starke positive Wirkung auf die Textkompetenz in der L1 haben dagegen die literalen Praktiken im Elternhaus sowie die Spracheinstellung und der Sprachgebrauch der Proband(inn)en.

 

Was bedeutet das für die Praxis

  • Die Sprachförderung von mehrsprachigen Kindern muss in beiden Sprachen erfolgen.
  • Bei der Förderung der L1 leidet die L2 nicht, sondern wird im Gegenteil gestärkt.
  • Zur mehrsprachigen Förderung gehört auch der Erwerb von Schriftlichkeit (Literalität) als Teil des expliziten Wissens.
  • Die Förderung des metasprachlichen Bewusstseins, d.h. ein differenziertes Wissen über sprachliche Strukturen und Sprachgebrauchsregeln, soll im Unterricht stärker berücksichtigt werden.

 

Facebook Seite des Projektes:

https://www.facebook.com/projekt.mehrschriftlichkeit?fref=ts